Article7 October 2026 · 4 min read

Emalla Grand G5 Pro vs Dragon Hawk Fold Pro compared

Two wireless adjustable-stroke machines with the same 2.4-4.2 mm range side by side: batteries, runtime, weight and voltage, from the manufacturers' declared data in the Odisage database.

At a glance

Comparison of the data declared by the manufacturers
Grand G5 ProEmallaFold Pro - 2-battery versionDragon Hawk
Stroke2.4-4.2 mm, 7 adjustable positions2.4 / 2.7 / 3.0 / 3.3 / 3.6 / 3.9 / 4.2 mm
WeightNot stated in the catalogue200 g
Weight conditionNot stated in the cataloguewith battery
Working voltage4-12 V4-12 V
Battery life6-8 hours per battery (tested without needle load); over 10 hours in total with two batteriesNot stated in the catalogue
Battery2 batteries of 2000 mAh, USB-C charging about 2 hours1500 mAh, 4-6 h of work
Odisage Score82/10078/100

The values are the ones declared by the manufacturer, shown as they are. Weights can refer to different conditions (with or without battery): check the condition line before comparing them.

Stroke: the same range, seven positions

The two machines declare the same adjustable stroke range, 2.4-4.2 mm, with seven positions. For the Fold Pro Dragon Hawk lists the values (2.4 / 2.7 / 3.0 / 3.3 / 3.6 / 3.9 / 4.2 mm); for the Grand G5 Pro Emalla gives the range and the number of positions without listing them, so we do not report them. On stroke the two machines cover the same field.

Batteries and runtime

The main difference is the battery. Emalla declares two 2000 mAh batteries with USB-C charging in about 2 hours and 6-8 hours per battery (tested without needle load), over 10 hours in total with the two batteries. For the Fold Pro in the 2-battery version the catalogue gives 1500 mAh and 4-6 hours of work. The two figures reflect different conditions (with or without load) and should not be read as identical numbers: read the runtime entry.

Voltage and weight

The declared working voltage is the same, 4-12 V. On weight, the Fold Pro in the 2-battery version is declared at 200 g with battery; for the G5 Pro Emalla lists 208 or 218 g depending on the grip without stating whether the battery is included, so we do not use it. We cannot say which is lighter.

Which way of working each suits

There is no better choice in absolute terms. What matters is how long you work at a stretch, whether you prefer two larger batteries, and how much a replaceable RCA connector, present on the Fold Pro, means to you. To narrow it down, use Find My Machine, and to read the sheets, the guide how to read a tattoo machine's specifications.

What the data does not tell you

The database lacks the G5 Pro's weight and the Fold Pro's charging time, and we do not estimate them. Prices change and are not shown. For details, open the Grand G5 Pro and Fold Pro sheets.

Related terms: Stroke · Voltage · Battery · Runtime · Weight

Related guides: 3.5 mm vs 4.2 mm stroke: what changes and how to read it · How to read the specifications of a tattoo machine · Cheyenne Hawk Pen 2 vs Critical Torque Lite compared · Cheyenne SOL Nova Unlimited vs Unlimited II compared · EZ P6 vs EZ P3 Pro Touch compared

Stay one step ahead.

New tattoo gear comparisons, guidesand insights,straight to your inbox.

Subscribing, you agree to receive our newsletter. Unsubscribe anytime.