Cheyenne SOL Nova Unlimited vs Unlimited II compared
The two generations of Cheyenne's SOL Nova Unlimited side by side: stroke options, batteries, runtime and weight, from the manufacturer's declared data in the Odisage database.
At a glance
| SOL Nova UnlimitedCheyenne | SOL Nova Unlimited IICheyenne | |
|---|---|---|
| Stroke | 2.5 / 3.5 / 4.0 / 5.0 mm | 2.5 / 3.5 / 4.0 / 4.5 mm |
| Weight | 184 g | Not stated in the catalogue |
| Weight condition | with battery | Not stated in the catalogue |
| Working voltage | Not stated in the catalogue | Not stated in the catalogue |
| Battery life | minimum 5 hours per battery | about 6 hours per battery (depends on use) |
| Battery | 2 lithium-ion batteries, charging about 3 hours | 2 batteries 18500, 2000 mAh each |
| Odisage Score | 87/100 | 91/100 |
The values are the ones declared by the manufacturer, shown as they are. Weights can refer to different conditions (with or without battery): check the condition line before comparing them.
Stroke: the available options
Both versions are offered in four stroke options. The first three are the same (2.5, 3.5 and 4.0 mm); the last one differs: 5.0 mm for the Unlimited and 4.5 mm for the Unlimited II. Anyone who often works with long strokes will therefore find the higher maximum on the first generation. For the Unlimited II, Cheyenne states that the stroke depends on the drive unit fitted and is chosen before work, not during it. To understand what these values mean, read the article 3.5 mm vs 4.2 mm.
Batteries and runtime
For the Unlimited, Cheyenne declares a minimum of 5 hours of working time per battery, with a full charge in about 3 hours and two lithium-ion batteries. For the Unlimited II it declares about 6 hours per battery, depending on use, with two 18500 batteries of 2000 mAh; the manufacturer states that the II uses a different battery from the first version. Note the "minimum" and the "about": they are different wordings and should not be read as two numbers of the same kind.
What changes between the two generations
Three differences emerge from the catalogue: the set of strokes (see above), the battery type and the motor. The Unlimited II is listed with a BLDC motor and three modes that adapt to skin resistance, while the first version is described with a constant mode and a resonant mode. These are manufacturer descriptions: how much the feel changes at work depends on the cartridge, the give and the hand.
Which way of working each suits
There is no better choice in absolute terms. What matters is which strokes you actually use, whether you need the 5.0 mm option or a 4.5 mm maximum is enough, and whether you prefer a standard-format battery (18500) or the first version's system. To narrow it down, use Find My Machine, and to read the sheets, the guide how to read a tattoo machine's specifications.
What the data does not tell you
In the database the weight is only present for the Unlimited (184 g with battery); for the II Cheyenne lists 210 g without stating the condition, and we do not use it. The working voltage is missing for both. Prices change and are not shown. For details, open the SOL Nova Unlimited and SOL Nova Unlimited II sheets.
Related terms: Stroke · Voltage · Battery · Runtime · Weight
Related guides: 3.5 mm vs 4.2 mm stroke: what changes and how to read it · How to read the specifications of a tattoo machine · Cheyenne Hawk Pen 2 vs Critical Torque Lite compared · EZ P6 vs EZ P3 Pro Touch compared · Emalla Grand G5 Pro vs Dragon Hawk Fold Pro compared
Alternatives and similar products
You may also like
- Article6 min read3.5 mm vs 4.2 mm stroke: what changes and how to read itStroke is the needle's travel: 3.5 mm and 4.2 mm are two common values on tattoo machine spec sheets. This article explains what they mean, how they compare, and why there is no universally better stroke.
- Article4 min readCheyenne Hawk Pen 2 vs Critical Torque Lite comparedTwo fixed-stroke pen machines side by side: 3.5 mm vs 3.8 mm stroke, weight, voltage and battery, from the manufacturers' own data in the Odisage database.
- Article4 min readEmalla Grand G5 Pro vs Dragon Hawk Fold Pro comparedTwo wireless adjustable-stroke machines with the same 2.4-4.2 mm range side by side: batteries, runtime, weight and voltage, from the manufacturers' declared data in the Odisage database.
Stay one step ahead.
New tattoo gear comparisons, guidesand insights,straight to your inbox.


